Allergen Info

Hello welcome to our allergen page.

ROAR products tend to cater to people with allergen concerns so therefore we would like to detail exactly what happens to our products so you can make an informed decision on whether ROAR products are suitable for you or your loved ones dietary needs.

At ROAR we don’t want to put long lists of “free from” on our products that are obviously free of these things anyway. So we aren’t going to call and almond “gluten-free” because let’s face it, ALL almonds are gluten-free.

But of course for coeliacs it is REALLY IMPORTANT to know if our products – including almonds – may have come into contact with gluten containing ingredients. The same is true for all sorts of allergens.

So while we will only stick to labelling a product as “free from” if it is really relevant e.g. our coconut teriyaki sauce is labelled as gluten-free because most other teriyaki sauces contain gluten and so on and so forth.

But for many of our products we won’t specifically say whether or not it is “free from”. Instead we follow the law of the land and have what is called an ALLERGY STATEMENT (if you have allergies we are sure you are familiar with this).

An allergy statement is separated into two categories:

  1. Contains – this is stating that the product contains anything from the following list of common allergens. See below.
  2. May contain – this means that the allergen isn’t part of the list of ingredients within the product. So technically it doesn’t contain the allergen, BUT that the factory that the food was produced in does produce other products containing the stated allergens. Therefore there is a risk of contamination. In most cases this is for people with more severe allergies (rather than intolerances). This is then separated into two different subcategories “present on the same line” or “present in the same factory“, which are hopefully pretty self explanatory.

List of common allergens (that are part of the allergen statement):

  • Cereals containing gluten (i.e. wheat, rye, barley, oats, spelt and kamut).
  • crustacea
  • egg
  • fish
  • milk (dairy)
  • peanuts
  • sesame seeds
  • soybeans
  • tree nuts (and their products)
  • sulphites

So to go back to the allergy advice on each product page of this website. We will clearly state if a product “contains” any of the above listed common allergens. We will also state whether it “may contain” any of those allergens and whether they are produced on the “same line” or in the “same factory” as that allergen so that you can make the most informed decision possible for your particular diet (e.g. someone with an intolerance may be fine with a “may contain” allergen advice where someone with an allergy may not).

Please don’t hesitate to get in touch if you have any questions regarding allergy advice or some things you don’t understand and we will be happy to help.